Thank You Galileo

Recently I was out archery hunting for whitetail deer in Nebraska when I looked up and saw the moon during daytime hours.  It wasn’t long before I reached into my hunting pack and pulled out my binoculars to get a closer look.  I was kinda stunned by the fact that optics as simple as binoculars can get you that much closer of a look at the moon.  It also made me ponder about the Hubble Space Telescope.  The Hubble was sent out into space on April 24th, 1990 and has been one of the most amazing inventions humans have created for research.  It orbits the earth at about 340 miles and captures images for astronomers and scientists to evaluate.  According to NASA’s fact sheet on the Hubble Telescope, it has looks into the past at locations 13.4 billion light years from earth.  I find this to be truly amazing considering the Big Bang which started it all was estimated to be 14 billion years ago.  That means the telescope has almost reached the existence of our universe.

Hubble Space Telescope

Reference

About the Hubble Space Telescope. (n.d.). Retrieved October 13, 2016, from http://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/hubble/story/index.html

Leave a comment